3rd of May – The journey to Issoudun

So this morning I packed my bags and headed towards the Channel Tunnel.

image

This trip is going to be be my first solo trip on my Nuffield travels and my first blog post for a while since the CSC in Rennes, France which seems a long time ago now. We have been busy on the farm planting all the spring crops, putting on fertiliser, spraying etc. I don’t think it has hardly rained since the CSC in March either, only 20ml. Luckily it was raining as I left home this morning, hopefully it keeps raining until I get back on Wednesday night!

So my day has been spent in a car driving on the wrong side of the road for six hours until I reached my destination. Journey was good, I didn’t crash or go the wrong way around the round about! 400 miles later I am here at the soulless Ibis budget Hotel.

I thought I would write a quick blog post to remind everyone I am still here and to say over the next couple of days I have some really interesting visits coming up and I will be blogging about them. Tomorrow I am seeing Hubert Charpentier who grows crops on a living mulch of Lucerne. Tuesday I am spending the day with Dr Joelle Fustec in Angers and then on Wednesday I am with Frederic Thomas’s farm before heading home.

Until tomorrow!

 

Leave a comment